Online services will be unavailable on Tuesday, March 31, at 2:00pm - Wednesday, April 1, at 12:00am.

Board of Commissioners

Board Members

Kent County residents are welcome to contact their Commissioners regarding issues of interest to them. Contact with Commissioners may be made through the Executive Assistant to the Board. The current Commissioners, their addresses and phone numbers are listed below. an:

Commissioners whose names are followed by:

* serve on the Finance and Physical Resources Committee.
# serve on the Legislative and Human Resources Committee.

Board of Commissioners' districts are created by an apportionment committee that includes the County Clerk, the Prosecutor, the County Treasurer and the chairs of the two political parties receiving the greatest number of votes cast for Secretary of State in the last general election.

District 1


Ted Vonk #
Legislative & Human Resources Committee Vice-Chair
4122 Boulder Meadow
Belmont, MI 49306
Phone: (616) 874-2604
ted.vonk@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

Plainfield Township (part)
City of Rockford

District 1 Commission Map 2011-21

District 2


Tom Antor #
9341 Laubach
Sparta, MI 49345
Phone: (616) 887-7210
tom.antor@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

Alpine Township
Algoma Township
Sparta Township
Sparta Village

District 2 Commission Map 2011-21

District 3


Roger Morgan *
10585 Tefft
Rockford, MI 49341
Phone: (616) 866-4264
roger.morgan@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

Casnovia Township (part)
City of Cedar Springs
Courtland Township
Kent City Village
Nelson Township
Sand Lake Village
Solon Township
Spencer Township
Tyrone Township

District 3 Commission Map 2011-21

District 4


Diane Jones *
6561 Laguna Vista Drive
Rockford, MI 49341
Phone: (616) 874-8740
diane.jones@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Lowell
Cannon Township
Grattan Township
Oakfield Township
Vergennes Township

District 4 Commission Map 2011-21

District 5


Mandy Bolter #
2097 Steketee Woods Lane
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone: (616) 295-7909
mandy.bolter@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

Bowne Township
Caledonia Township (part)
Cascade Township
Lowell Township

District 5 Commission Map 2011-21

District 6


Stan Stek #

1274 Whitepine SW
Walker, MI  49534
(616) 776-6324
stan.stek@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids (part)
City of Walker

District 6 Commission Map 2011-21

District 7


Stan Ponstein #

3967 Edgewood
Grandville, MI 49418
Phone: (616) 726-2331
stan.ponstein@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grandville
City of Wyoming (part)

District 7 Commission Map 2011-21

District 8


Harold Voorhees *

5380 Kenowa Ave.
Wyoming, MI 49418
Phone: (616) 534-1876
harold.voorhees@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Wyoming

District 8 Commission Map 2011-21

District 9


Matt Kallman *

4137 Oriole Ave. SW
Wyoming, MI  49509
(616) 915-5098
matt.kallman@kentcountymi.gov  

Area of Representation:

Byron Township
City of Wyoming (part)

District 9 Commission Map 2011-21

District 10


Emily P. Brieve #
7438 Missoula Dr. SE
Caledonia, MI  49316
(616) 502-5010
emily.brieve@kentcountymi.gov  

Area of Representation:

Caledonia Township (part)
Gaines Township

District 10 Commission Map 2011-21

District 11


Jim Saalfeld *

Board Vice-Chair
Finance & Physical Resources Committee Chair
205 Morningside Dr. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
Phone: (616) 464-1939
jim.saalfeld@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

Ada Township
City of East Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Township

District 11 Commission Map 2011-21

District 12


Harold Mast *

PO Box 8737
Kentwood, MI 49518
Phone: (616) 532-5686
harold.mast@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Kentwood (part)
City of Wyoming (part)

District 12 Commission Map 2011-21

District 13


Richard Vander Molen *

2171 Fawnwood
Kentwood, MI 49508
Phone: (616) 455-1562
dick.vandermolen@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Kentwood

District 13 Commission Map 2011-21

District 14


Carol Hennessy *

Board of Commissioners Minority Party Vice-Chair
Finance and Physical Resources Committee Vice-Chair
1510 Kenan NW
Grand Rapids, MI  49504
(616) 453-9167
carol.hennessy@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids

District 14 Commission Map 2011-21

District 15


Jim Talen #

323 Paris SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone: (616) 454-2243
jim.talen@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids

District 15 Commission Map 2011-21

District 16


David Bulkowski *
322 Woodmere SE
Grand Rapids   MI 49506
(616) 560-2293
dave.bulkowski@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids

District 16 Commission Map 2011-21

District 17


Candace E. Chivis #

1939 Kalamazoo Ave. Apt. B
Grand Rapids, MI  49507
Phone: (616) 558-3443
candace.chivis@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids

District 17 Commission Map 2011-21

District 18


Dan Koorndyk

Board of Commissioners Chair
35 Bel-Air Dr. NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone: (616) 458-8934
dan.koorndyk@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids (part)
Plainfield Township (part)

District 18 Commission Map 2011-21

District 19


Shana Shroll #

Legislative & Human Resources Committee Chair
1612 Woodward Ave. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
Phone: (616) 292-4624
shana.shroll@kentcountymi.gov

Area of Representation:

City of Grand Rapids (part)
City of East Grand Rapids (part)

District 19 Commission Map 2011-21

Contact Us

Board of Commissioners

County Administration Building
300 Monroe Avenue NW
Grand Rapids MI 49503

(616) 632-7580

(616) 632-7585

Conni Mutchler
Executive Assistant to the Board

Employee Recognition

Nominate a Kent County Employee for Quality Service!