Marriage License Application
- Set Date. Arrange for wedding ceremony and date before applying.
- Social Security Numbers. You must provide social security numbers for both applicants. Applicants without a social security number must provide legal explanation in-person at the County Clerk's Office.
- Proof of Age. Government-issued birth certificates and current driver's licenses or state IDs are required for both applicants; photo copies are sufficient, but we do NOT accept digital copies. Documents must be in English.
- Residence. At least one applicant must be a Kent County resident OR both applicants may be non-Michigan residents getting married in Kent County. Proof of address required by showing valid driver's license or state ID.
- Fee. $20.00 for county residents and $30.00 for out-of-state applicants.
- Pick Up. Pick up license in person no sooner than 3 days after application
Clerk's Office with all required documents.
- The County Clerk's Office will NOT process online marriage applications after 4:45pm
- The County Clerk's Office will NOT process in-person marriage applications after 4:30pm
- Please plan accordingly.
- License is good for 33 days from and including application date.
- Witnesses must be 18 or older.
- License may be used in any county in Michigan.
- If ceremony is to be in English, then both parties must understand English.
Judges & Magistrates Who Perform Marriage Ceremonies In Kent County
Grand Rapids District Court (61st) (GR Residents Only)
180 Ottawa Avenue NW, Suite 1400
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
4740 Walma Avenue SE
Kentwood, MI 49512
Court (Grandville Residents Only)
3161 Wilson SE
Grandville, MI 49418
Ministers, priest, rabbis, certain judges. etc, may perform marriage ceremonies in Michigan. Make sure to find out if the person performing your ceremony requires counseling. To obtain information on judges and magistrates in other Michigan counties, contact the County Clerk for the specific county.