District Courts in Kent County

District Court Overview

A district court has exclusive jurisdiction of all civil litigation up to $25,000. and handles garnishments, eviction proceedings, land contract and mortgage foreclosures, and other proceedings. In the criminal field, district court handles all misdemeanors where punishments do not exceed one year, including arraignment, setting and acceptance of bail, trial and sentencing; and conducts preliminary examinations in felony cases. Also, a small claims division is provided in district court for civil cases where the amount claimed is not more than $6,500. In these cases, litigants agree to waive their right to a jury, rules of evidence, representation by a lawyer, and the right to appeal from the district judge's decision. If either party objects, the case will be heard by the general civil division of the district court.

Kent County has five District Courts covering the following jurisdictions:

59th District Court in Walker (Map) encompasses the City of Walker

59th District Court in Grandville (Map) encompasses the City of Grandville

61st District Court (Map) encompasses the City of Grand Rapids

62-A District Court (Map) encompasses the City of Wyoming

62-B District Court (Map) encompasses the City of Kentwood

63rd District Court (Map) encompasses the Cities of Cedar Springs, East Grand Rapids, Lowell and Rockford; Townships of Ada, Algoma, Alpine, Bryon, Bowne, Caledonia, Cannon, Cascade, Courtland, Gaines, Grand Rapids Township, Gratton, Lowell, Nelson, Oakfield, Plainfield, Solon, Sparta, Spencer, Tyron, and Vergennes, Casnovia Village, and Lake and Kent City