County Clerk

Concealed Weapon License

Application for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL)

The County Clerk's Office will not process concealed weapons applications after 4:45pm, please plan accordingly.

Application: Obtain application from the County Clerk or download application (rev 11/2015)

Fee:  $115
New: $100 to County Clerk and $15 to fingerprinting agency
Renewal: $115 to County Clerk

Training: (Must be taken w/in last 5 years) Complete before applying with certificate containing

  • The statement “This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372”
  • Printed name, signature, and telephone number of course instructor
  • Individual has successfully completed the course
  • Name of training organization that certified instructor (e.g., NRA, MCOLES, etc)
  • Training organization telephone number
  • Instructor’s certification number and expiration date

Submit: completed application with attachments (safety training certificate, proof of prohibited premises qualification, if applicable), and State of Michigan ID.

Fingerprints
New: Must be fingerprinted after submitting application.
Renewal: May not have to be reprinted if still an active renewal (i.e., it has been less than a year from expiration).
Reapplications: Must re-take the training class and be fingerprinted again (applying more than a year after expiration

Approval: Licenses will be mailed to address indicated on application.

License Term: A license is valid until applicant’s birth date “that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after license is issued” after approval.

Lost License replacement fee: $10.00

Renewal: Apply for renewal up to 6 months before your current license expires or there may be a gap in your ability to carry concealed. You must complete the application form, bring in additional documents, if applicable, as well as current CPL license and driver’s license.

Michigan State Police - Firearms Laws of Michigan