Information for Artists and Shops
Law and Regulations
Body art shops are required to obtain a license from Michigan Department of Human Health and Services (MDHHS) and must receive at least one annual inspection by the local health department. Body art shops are regulated by Michigan Public Act. 375 and Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) “Requirements for Body Art Facilities”. These documents continue to be updated, so be sure you are familiar with the most recent editions. Michigan Public Act. 375 (Body Art Law) gives local health departments the authority to enforce “Requirements for Body Art Facilities”. Health departments use a standardized inspection form created by MDHHS when conducting an inspection. The items listed on the form in red are critical items and will require a follow up visit. The items in black are non-critical and would need to be corrected by the next regular inspection. Below are links for the law, requirements, and inspection form.
Client Records and Forms
Body art facilities are required to provide clients with specific forms prior to and after a procedure. Before a body art procedure, clients must be given a copy of the disclosure statement and asked about certain medical conditions. After a procedure, clients must receive verbal AND written aftercare instructions. The links below are for the minimum requirements for these documents.
- Disclosure Statement/Notice for Filing Complaints
- Consent Form
- Aftercare Instructions for Tattooing
- Aftercare Instructions for Piercing
- Aftercare Instructions for Branding
*Rules 10 and 11 of the Requirements for Body Art Facilities is where the details of the required forms are listed. Client records must be retained for a minimum of 3 years.
There are three forms required to be filled out by each body art facility employee. These forms are to be kept for a minimum of three years after the end of employment.
Each employee in the facility (not just artists) are required to have a current bloodborne pathogen certification. The bloodborne pathogen training must done in person. Online training is not acceptable. The Kent County Health Department is currently developing an in-person bloodborne pathogen training course to help artists fulfill this requirement. Once completed, registration and course dates will be posted on Kent County Health Department Body Art webpage.
Each facility is required to have specific documents on site. A current MIOSHA Bloodborne Infectious Disease Exposure Control Plan is one of them. This must be site specific and will fulfill certain requirements under MIOSHA. Facilities are also required to obtain a three year “Certificate of Registration as a Medical Waste Producing Facility”.
Plan Review: New and Existing Facilities
When a new facility is being constructed or an existing facility is being remodeled, they must go through a process called plan review. Plan review is a combination of document review and an on-site inspection of the body art shop. A plan review checklist is used to evaluate the facility to make sure it meets the requirements of the law. Newly constructed or remodeled facilities must first receive an on-site inspection approving them to operate.
New facilities have an additional step. They have 30 days after being approved to operate to apply for an inspection. This inspection will count as the annual inspection required by law.